The foreclosure process in Texas is very short, simple, and somewhat scary. Many homeowners are unaware that if a homeowner is in default on their mortgage, under Texas law, that homeowner can lose their home in as few as 41 days. And, because Texas is a non-right of redemption state, there is no opportunity to reclaim your property once the foreclosure has taken place. Once the foreclosure sale has concluded, the lender or the new property owner may file an eviction notice if the former owner is still occupying the property. The county constable’s offices serve eviction notices. The notice includes a court date. After the court hearing the former property owner has five days to vacate the property. After five days, the former owner will have a minimum of 24 hours to vacate the property.
For these reasons it is extremely important for homeowners to be informed and act quickly when encountering difficulty making your mortgage payment. Once a home has been foreclosed upon in Texas, there is not a redemption period.
If you are facing a foreclosure, schedule a time to meet with an attorney at Bailey & Galyen to discuss your options. To set up an appointment, contact us by e-mail or call 1-800-208-3104. We will take your call 24 hours a day, seven days a week.